The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Should I Be Cross...

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lomax512

lomax512

Dipped Only

• Member - Bronze+

• Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 24 June 2019 - 12:21

Hello there

As a complete novice I have just bought a pen and now I don't know if I have been scammed, I don't think I have as the Pen was advertised as a Cross Century II but has BG on the clip, was this owned by Barry Gibb lol

Writes nicely for the little ink it has left and what do you think for £17....

And what refills would it take I need to start writing, preferably in black.

Thanks for any info :)

Attached Images

• 0001.jpg
  • 0002.jpg
  • 0003.jpg
  • 0004.jpg

Sponsored Content

#2 PaulS

PaulS

Antique

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,869 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 24 June 2019 - 13:21

looks to be a good pen - I've seen personalized attachments on some of these Cross f.ps. before  -  seems to be a not uncommon habit - and I'd suggest good value for the money paid.

It seems Cross still do their own cartridges  - little shortie jobs that have a staggered shoulder appearance which gives them the look of an extended telescope appearance - half a dozen in a small carton, and quite cheap. 

I'd suggest the short Waterman cartridges will also fit, and it could be that your barrel will take two of each of these brands - but you must remember to insert the lower cartridge 'thin end down', otherwise the lower one will jam.             

Sheaffer Skrip cartridges may not fit  -  too thick possibly, and don't know if a standard length Parker cartridge will fit.

#3 lomax512

lomax512

Dipped Only

• Member - Bronze+

• Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 24 June 2019 - 13:34