Need Advice - Adjusting A Nib

Dr.X

Hello everyone.

FWIW, I'm a "graduate" of a Richard Binder course on adjusting nibs and have a fair amount of experience, but I'm by no means an expert. I've come across a problem that I can't figure out. Hoping someone can give me some suggestions and ideas as to why this may have happened.

The pen in question is a Montblanc 344G (gold nib). A recent eBay purchase, it writes well but catches on upstrokes, especially diagonals to the right.

A look under the microscope reveals why (see pics).

The strange thing is that the tines are flat and even and do not show any sign of prior deformation (or repair). The nib looks quite intact, in fact. Yet at the tips the tines appear to be of different lengths.

The worn writing surface is fairly obvious at this magnification and is not continuous from the left to the right tine.

Any ideas?

post-76466-0-29296000-1561326344_thumb.jpgpost-76466-0-38257000-1561326374_thumb.jpg

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Dr.X

• Honeybadgers

• Bo Bo Olson

• OMASsimo

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

In the second pic it appears that the right tine is curved more than the left, thereby making it shorter. The odd thing is that the tipping at the bottom appears even, so how it got this way is a mystery. There is plenty of material to work with, so a bit of evening up of the tines should fix it.

Is it supposed to be an oblique?...Would be so marked on or near the piston cap.

Even so some evening of the nib is needed.

Edited by Bo Bo Olson

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.

The cheapest lessons are from those who learned expensive lessons. Ignorance is best for learning expensive lessons.