Acidic Ink For A Vintage Pen - Is It Safe ?

kavanagh

Dear Colleagues,

I have a vintage Diplomat Classic Fountain Pen ( picture attached ).

I have bought Waterman's Mysterious Blue Ink for it but have read that it has a pH value of 3.0 (which is acidic ).

I am not sure if the ink feed inside the Diplomat is rubber / plastic or ebonite and if it will be affected by the ink or if I should stay on the safe side and only use Waterman Havana ( which is pH 7 - neutral ).

Any advice would be appreciated.

Also, can someone recommend an ink for a vintage fountain pen that is safe, won't clog it or corrode it if the pen is not used for a couple of weeks ?.

Thanks

Diplomat%20Pic3_zps406uymez.jpg

Diplomat%20Pic2_zpsrh5jdysp.jpg

Diplomat%20Pic1%201_zpsjeadhzaj.jpg

Edited by kavanagh

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mke

• Noihvo

• eharriett

• kavanagh

Your pen looks already heavily corroded, which means that highly acidic/basic liquids can access the unprotected steel easily. Not good.

Look around on the internet and you see that Baystate Blue has a pH of 4.53 and it is considered very damaging to pens. I never heard such stories about the Waterman ink (which you said) is more acidic.

Conclusion: this pen will not last forever, as it is already damaged. Therefore, use it regularly and don't let it sit too long.

Edited by mke

@Noihvo

Did you read the method of measuring pH, described on the page I referred to: http://www.indy-pen-dance.com/Inks-Report-on-the-pH-of-More-than-60-Inks.html

Is there something doubtful or unscientific with it, than tell us where the problem is - but please don't do generalized rejections. Generalization is as bad as bad measurements.