Review Of Old Style Two-Chick Ob And Obb Nibs

LyaT

I am very new in the fountain pen hobby. Only six months into it, I read so much about old style nibs. I am very lucky to have acquired two old style nib: 14k OB, and 18k OBB, both in the modern M400 size.

I searched on this forum for reviews of old style pelikan factory oblique nibs before buying them, but what I found were a bit confusing. Some user experience centered around line variations, some claimed obliques were not meant for line variations, as they were designed for people who held their pens rotated to the left.

I cant say if the OB and OBB nibs were designed for line variations, but they certainly delivered such, when held in rotated position.

My quick review:

1. The nibs used here are 14k OB in used but excellent condition, 18k OBB in NOS. They both two two-toned nibs with two chicks, likely made in mid 80s to early 90s. They might be nibs for old style M600 or toledo M700. The more common old style M400 or M250 nibs are single tone.

2. They are both wet writers. Maybe thats my luck, I like wet nibs very much. The wetness is similar to modern M400/M600 nibs.

3. When held rotated slightly to the left, they gave beautiful line variations. The horizontal lines are thicker, the vertical lines are thinner. Thats the same to what we call architect grind, opposite to the more common cursive Italic grind.

4. When held normal, not rotated, they write less smooth but still very good. In this way, I dont see much line variations, and the lines are thinner, something between a modern 14k F and M nib.

5. The OBB is really not THAT thick. I thought it would be of no use except for playing with inks. That was a misconception. The OBB in not-so-wet Robert Oster ink is really great for everyday use. I use my pens on A5 notebooks, for meeting notes, my research notes, and journal.