Vintage Summit Non Writer

lysander

Ive recently purchased this lovely little thing for pretty cheap, in part due to it having a non original nib.

Problem is, theres no inkflow to the nib.

The seller advised me flush the pen with water and a few drops of dish soap and to send it back if it still doesnt work.

Id be interested in trying to fix it myself if that doesnt fix it though.

The nib and feed are clearly misaligned for a start.

I probably wont touch it if it ends up working, but would love some pointers on how I would go about dismantling it and straightening the nib, for the sake of learning - I have no experience in pen repair but am fairly handy.

post-150036-0-69969600-1558426576_thumb.jpeg

post-150036-0-90641800-1558426593_thumb.jpeg

post-150036-0-82034300-1558426615_thumb.jpeg

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• lysander

• PaulS

• Bo Bo Olson

• sidthecat

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

What's it say on the clip?

A picture of the top of the pen, the finial, could help.

I have a similar looking but German piston pen, some of that brand has different finials and one was a brand mark so perhaps yours has a brand mark there.

Can't read exactly what the nib says...............there were often 'generic' nibs used that would not be ...not original.

Sounds to me like you have a dead sack............once back in the day, rubber sacs lasted 30-40 years. Now, perhaps 10.....unless you use supersaturated inks. Some repairmen warn against supersaturated inks that can eat a rubber sack in a couple of weeks.

Then of course you will run into some that say, they use supersaturated inks all the time in their lever pens....................and for 'months' perhaps more.................but I tend to take a qualified repairman's word.

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.