How To Know If A 52 Bchr Has Been Reblackened?

Ben19

Hello I would like to know if that pen could have been reblackened. Thank you in advance for your answers.

post-124744-0-70128100-1557961077_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-08616000-1557961092_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-33801000-1557961141_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-97544900-1557961163_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-41793400-1557961196_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-52478100-1557961218_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-21645500-1557961243_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-04115600-1557961263_thumb.jpg

post-124744-0-58008400-1557961282_thumb.jpg

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Left FPN

• Ben19

• FarmBoy

• PaulS

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Very nice Waterman, and love the result of the flex nib. MHO is that there might not be a foolproof way to determine if a pen has been 're-blacked' - though an honest seller should offer that information if asked.

Regret I've no experience of staining a pen which is possibly the process you are discussing, rather than the alternative of removing oxidation to expose the original black. I have tried Mark Hoover's product which works along the lines of removing oxidation from the BHR/Vulcanite, thus helping to expose the original black material, and successive applications of the 'remover' gives good results if you follow the instructions - it can be time consuming though, and your enthusiasm may be proportional to the value of the pen.

Removing oxidation can be unpredictable and isn't guaranteed to eliminate every trace of non-black appearance - I've had good results with Mark's product, but would add that - for obvious reasons - it works better on pens that aren't too heavily oxidized. I have some pens that have been sold to me as 'brown' - which shows how severe oxidation can be.