Montblanc 149 Leak Piston

cynegils

Hi everyone, I am new to the fountain pen network but have already used the large knowledge base here to guide my recent purchase of a used Montblanc 149 from the 90s. I'm very grateful for the the useful information here. Unfortunately, I may not have read quite enough.

The pen arrived yesterday from an antiques store in Spain (I'm in NYC). It came with a little ink inside so I used the pen and found it writes wonderfully. However, while flushing the pen for the first time, I noticed there is a considerable amount of ink on the screws of the piston as you can see in the picture I included (that is supposed to be a shiny brass screw!).

Also, I noticed that after a day of flushing, it is still not coming out clear, although it is significantly improving. More importantly, I tried to dry it by surrounding the nib with lint free wipes, and it seems like it could be leaking from either the red arrow, or blue arrow region in the picture of the nib, although I am not sure of this. Is this where a leak would/could form?

It seems like there is ink everywhere inside. Most importantly, can this be fixed? If I took it apart, and cleaned and greased the different parts, would this fix whatever is wrong? If not, I'll be trying to return this.

post-149663-0-63311900-1557945296_thumb.jpg

post-149663-0-77990200-1557945307_thumb.jpg

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Erik Dalton

• cynegils

• NeverTapOut

Try to send it back. You can do much better on here, or even some of the more reputable Ebay sellers, or even the back room at the Fountain Pen Hospital right there in NYC.

Hard to tell what the exact issue are, but it you have ink leaking at both ends, its in need of a total rebuild. You could also send it to Montblanc but, thats time and money. I hope you are able to return it. Sorry to hear of your troubles. Good luck.