Affordable #6 Nibs? Newbie Rambling Questions..for An Edc Fp..

Candlejackstraw

Ok! So Im new in the world of fountain pens, I own a few different ones, IE platinum preppy, charlie, jinhao 450, 750 and some "rosewood" ones off of Amazon.

I really like the platinum preppy nibs, especially the #2's (for writing in my daily planner and journal Ive started) Ive been tempted to either purchase a platinum plaisir or a pilot metropolitan with a fine nib or search for a #6 nib (size fine) that I can place in the Jinhao. Ive already experimented with the Zebra G conversion with success, however.. I wouldnt want it for a dialy writer and I cannot find any other #6 type of nib besides the goulets. Can anyone offer nib suggestions? (Or should I just go with the metro or plaisir)

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Candlejackstraw

• MuddyWaters

• steve50

• Honeybadgers

Goulet sells Jowo nibs which come in standard widths and stubs. Why not give them a try first? And if you want more variety, Fpnibs.com offers various modifications on Jowo nibs which fit Jinhao pens.

But if you like very fine nibs, Japanese pens excel in them. EF on Jowo nibs are probably still slightly broader than platinum F.

Edited by steve50

If you are looking for loose #6 nibs cheaper than those offered by the Goulets, I don't think you'll find any that write consistently well - the Goulets' quality control and customer service is exceptional.

If you don't want to spend that much on a nib I'd highly recommend either of the pens you mentioned, though I'm partial to the Metro. A Pilot F nun puts down a smooth but controlled and thin line and is excellent for notes, journaling, etc. A Metro F is slightly finer than a Jowo EF in my experience.

Edited by flyingpenman

Whenever you are fed up with life, start writing: ink is the great cure for all human ills, as I found out long ago.

~C.S. Lewis

--------------

Current Rotation: