Sheaffer Snorkel Admiral Corrosions

Anchovy

I am a newbie here, and I have just taken the bull by the horns, i.e. the vintage Sheaffer by the snorkel. This is my first dismantling of a pen so why not start with the really tricky mechanism! What could possibly go wrong? (I paid about £30 for this pen and I just figure I had better learn how to service vintage pens if I like writing with them). I was encouraged and guided by the wonderful posts of Ernst Bitterman and sndeshpande. Thank you!

The reason for disassembly was the usual one: the filling mechanism seemed to be in working order but the pen took up only a small amount of ink. I found a leak near the threads. Gasket and O-ring in the barrel seemed fine but the blind cap seal is a thinnish o-ring rather than a thicker seal. Perhaps that's the problem - that's easily fixed since the pendragons sell snorkel repair kits, and I could cut a replacement from a bit of rubber sac. But there's yet another issue.

The sac protector has three holes, presumably due to corrosion (see photos). The one near the end concerns me in particular because the sharp edges may in time pierce the sac. Do the holes matter? Are they usual for a pen of this age? Does the whole protector need to be replaced or should I patch and file down the holes? Where would I get a spare part?

I guess until I've addressed this issue it's not worth proceeding with my 'repair'.

Any advice is most gratefully received. I am learning and I really enjoy this new hobby. Thank you.

Petra

post-147732-0-26411700-1556638814_thumb.jpg

post-147732-0-87034600-1556638835_thumb.jpg

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• adyf

• Paul80

• gmark_wa

• Anchovy

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi Petra.