Identifying Sailor 1911 14K

gleemestr

I wonder if anyone are able to identify this pen.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/KING-SAILOR-1911-Black-14K-Gold-585-Fountain-Pen-JAPAN-5663/273802684102?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

The nib is not like others i have seen and the name (KING SAILOR 1911) does not make sense to me.

And the Cap band is not like the current pens, with only one band.

I have very little knowledge of the Sailor pens, i does look like an 1911 Large, but maybe an older edition version?

Edited by gleemestr

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gleemestr

• steve50

• penzel_washinkton

• Algester

Looks like an older 1911 standard. But what's interesting is that it seems to have an 'S-F' nib, which is suspected to mean it's soft but it hasn't been verified.

Edited by steve50

We will see when it arraives.

Do you have Sailor's 'H' nibs? Would be interesting to compare them and see if the H and S really mean 'hard' and 'soft'. But in any case the S nibs are very rare and they are collector items.

Older 1911 Large. You can tell the difference between a large and a standard just by looking at whether "1911" is on the nib. The smaller standard does not have it.

Regarding H and S nibs. I've seen H nibs that can range from being soft to a nail; and likewise with S nibs. No idea why some S nibs are hard despite having seen stickered pens that have "Soft" - in Japanese - on the barrel.

There are other differences aside from the cap band. The obvious one being the section band. The size is, as far as I know, about the same size as the modern Sailors. There are some generational differences between the older 1911 Larges (probably applies to the standards as well), such as integrated/unintegrated section band with the nib unit and different number of slits on the feed.