Pilot Custom 74 With F / Sf Nib

Timotheus

I'm planning to buy a Pilot Custom 74 with a F nib, but I'm hesitant between basic F and SF. I have no experience with soft or flex nibs at all, which makes the choice rather difficult.

I'm not particularly interested in line variation and the like, and I never press the nib. It's just the difference in 'feeling' while writing that matters to me. What would be the difference between the two from this point of view?

Italix Captain's Commission F – Italix Parson's Essential F – Kaweco Dia2 EF – Pilot Custom 74 SF – Sailor 1911 Simply Black F – TWSBI Classic EF – Rotring Altro F

“As for the qualities of which you may know, ‘These qualities lead to dispassion, not to passion; to being unfettered, not to being fettered; to shedding, not to accumulating; to modesty, not to self-aggrandizement; to contentment, not to discontent; to seclusion, not to entanglement; to aroused persistence, not to laziness; to being unburdensome, not to being burdensome’: You may definitely hold, ‘This is the Dhamma, this is the Vinaya, this is the Teacher’s instruction.’”

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Timotheus

• minddance

• pitonyak

• Algester

Pilot F is really thin, any other color than black is not coming out very well.

If you don't have a miniscule handwriting, I think SF is a better choice.

Thanks both for your advice!

Italix Captain's Commission F – Italix Parson's Essential F – Kaweco Dia2 EF – Pilot Custom 74 SF – Sailor 1911 Simply Black F – TWSBI Classic EF – Rotring Altro F