The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Steps To Restore A Vintage Wahl-Eversharp For A Complete Newbie?

wahl eversharp 14k vintage restoration

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hu-327

hu-327

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 22 April 2019 - 21:29

I bought this pen on eBay recently and thought I'd stumbled on a wet noodle pen (seller had this in all caps in the title) for a steal at ~$62. Problem is, this pen is almost certainly not a wet noodle, as defined by going off of what I know of them, based on me trying to flex the tines (which are about as flexible as an Ahab (so not very flexible at all), and much sharper, for those wondering). There's a fair amount of scratching, damage, and bite marks to it, which brings me to my next point. The section and barrel won't come apart, and the lever filler clip stops at a certain point. As someone who is totally inexperienced with restoration, could I restore it on my own or would it be better to send it off to an expert? I could deal with the latter, but as a student, if it costs too much, I don't know if I can.

Sponsored Content

#2 GlenV

GlenV

Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 23 April 2019 - 16:54

It looks pretty cool, I dont know if any Wahl pens of that era were threaded section but mine have not been. If it doesnt wiggle a tiny bit with hairdryer warming I would be concerned about threads. I dont have that particular pen, the nib appears to be a replacement from a Skyline which are often pretty nice my 2 Skyline pens dont have much flex although I have a Wahl from the 30s like yours thats more flexible. Cool pen I think though.
Regards, Glen

#3 hu-327

hu-327

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 23 April 2019 - 21:12