Steps To Restore A Vintage Wahl-Eversharp For A Complete Newbie?

hu-327

I bought this pen on eBay recently and thought I'd stumbled on a wet noodle pen (seller had this in all caps in the title) for a steal at ~$62. Problem is, this pen is almost certainly not a wet noodle, as defined by going off of what I know of them, based on me trying to flex the tines (which are about as flexible as an Ahab (so not very flexible at all), and much sharper, for those wondering). There's a fair amount of scratching, damage, and bite marks to it, which brings me to my next point. The section and barrel won't come apart, and the lever filler clip stops at a certain point. As someone who is totally inexperienced with restoration, could I restore it on my own or would it be better to send it off to an expert? I could deal with the latter, but as a student, if it costs too much, I don't know if I can.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• GlenV

• hu-327

• eachan

Top Posters In This Topic

It looks pretty cool, I dont know if any Wahl pens of that era were threaded section but mine have not been. If it doesnt wiggle a tiny bit with hairdryer warming I would be concerned about threads. I dont have that particular pen, the nib appears to be a replacement from a Skyline which are often pretty nice my 2 Skyline pens dont have much flex although I have a Wahl from the 30s like yours thats more flexible. Cool pen I think though.

Regards, Glen

Disappointing to hear that it's not actually a vintage flex. I've been pining after one for a long time. :( Do you think the price for it was fair then, considering the condition? I will warm it up with a hairdryer tonight and see if the section comes loose from the barrel.