Why Twsbi 580 Or Mini, Vs Eco?

Brianm_14

Hi,

I have been very satisfied with the two TWSBI Ecos I have acquired over the past 18 months, using them both on a nearly daily basis, both at my desks at home and at work. The low price attracted me at first, each time. Now I am happy with how they write and carry in my pocket or soft briefcase (I am a university professor) as I regularly shift among various lecture and seminar rooms. I particularly like seeing the beautiful inks displayed inside, and this frequently starts up interesting conversations about fountain pens with students.

Now I am wondering -what if anything- am I missing by not using a 580 or Mini?

Thanks! I am looking forward to hearing your various, always interesting (!) responses.

Greetings to everyone, wishing you a blessed and peaceful Passover or Easter, and to our Eastern Othodox brethren in a week's time.

Brian

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Brianm_14

• Misfit

• TSherbs

• 1nkulus

As the owner of quite a few TWSBI models, I have come to view the Eco as my favourite. There are small functional differences between the Eco, 580 and mini and the minor objective differences involve weight, dimensions and section material . The main differences are subjective and obviously quite personal. I know other owners who love the TWSBI range like I do but prefer the 580 or Mini for purely subjective reasons.

To answer your question, I don't think you are missing anything significant apart from the cost difference where the Eco has a pleasant advantage.

I kind of dislike my 580 because it doesn't post properly.

Selling a boatload of restored, fairly rare, vintage Japanese gold nib pens, click here to see (more added as I finish restoring them)

I love it when fellow members endorse a choice as sensible, which as it turns out, saves me money, per pen.