Permanent

Charles Skinner

A problem with not solution ----- I really wish I had used "permanent" inks all of the many, many years I have been writing in my journals! No way to go back and change it! Your thoughts, please.

C. Skinner (Odril and Agnes's little boy)

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• amper

• Charles Skinner

• fiberdrunk

• BaronWulfraed

Following, im just getting into inks and have been looking for fadeproof UV resistant inks.

How many years, what ink(s) do you use, and in what way are they failing?

I've only been using fountain pens regularly for about 25 years but none of my old writing has deteriorated significantly.

A problem with not solution ----- I really wish I had used "permanent" inks all of the many, many years I have been writing in my journals! No way to go back and change it!

What exactly is the problem, Charles? Using permanent inks sounds like a specific solution (out of possibly many solutions) to an unspecified problem. If you want the legibility of the contents of your journals to last at least as long as your eyesight (or your lifetime), and the lack of that "permanence" is the problem, have you seen any evidence that the writing has faded (and/or is fading) at a rate that calls the desired longevity into doubt?

You can always make a copy of the contents that are still legible today, if the contents (as opposed to your handwriting as it was umpteen years or even decades ago) are what is important and not the media. That holds true even if you want your descendants or other interested parties to read those contents long after you're gone; handling the original journals and touching the aged paper is not then a requirement. You could digitise what's there, or you can copy the contents out by hand now if you strongly feel that it has to be in a physical artefact 'produced' by your own hand to make it count.