Wyvern 5C

dragonq

Can anyone give me some information about the Wyvern 5C? I bought a bag of pens as a job lot, and it included one of these, unfortunately without its nib. (The other pens in the lot mainly dated to the 1930s.)

As the pen seems to be in OK condition, I would like to try and get a new nib for it, and am wondering if anyone can give me some advice as to what might suit.

post-146378-0-85096700-1554031158_thumb.jpg

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dragonq

• northlodge

• Wardok

• WhiteStarPens

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hello dragonq, I recognise that material from C.S!

I'm no expert on Wyverns but I've seen similar pens on Barry Rose's website Writetime. If you're not familiar, he has quite a range of English pens. Maybe you'll get some ideas from there.

He's a very knowledgeable chap, so perhaps drop him an email regarding the nib and he might be able to point you in the right direction.

He also sells rubber sacs etc, if you needed one. I'm currently working on a mauve marble Burnham 56 and he very kindly sorted me out with the right size.

Best of luck with your Wyvern, please do update us if you get any further with the restoration!

W.S.P

W.S.P

There is an item on ebay at the moment (123594760835 ) that shows a Wyvern 5C with its original nib.

It is known that Wyvern sourced their Warranted nibs from Curzon for an extended period in the 1930's, and this listing would confirm that the 5C production fell during this same period.

That might be good news for you as the Curzon "warranted 14ct" roundal design is relatively easy to find... allowing you to buy a cheap black 'national security' or suchlike and swop out the nib.