The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Left Handed Improvement Hand Writing

left handed

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 PanchoElizalde

PanchoElizalde

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 28 March 2019 - 02:30

I'm 3an old left handed writer. I love use fountain pens and I like to improve my hand writing.

All books reccomended in this forum are before the left handed people were enable to use left hand.

Do you know any good text for left handed imrovement hand writing?

Thanks a lot

Pancho

Sponsored Content

#2 BDarchitect

BDarchitect

Near Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 28 March 2019 - 04:26

Hello Pancho-  We are probably a similar vintage, and I am also a left handed writer.  I have recently been training myself to change from side writing to under writing, and am enjoying writing now for the first time in my life, especially with fountain pens.

I have purchased a number of guide books that have been helpful in different ways, and these are the ones I would suggest-

Write Now, by Barbara Getty and Inga Dubay is very helpful and addresses the particular issues facing lefties.  Even more attention to left handed writers is given in Improve Your Handwriting, by Rosemary Sassoon.  Neither are very expensive but both offer excellent penmanship advice for contemporary italic writing styles.  If you are hoping to improve a more traditional handwriting style, say a Palmer Method style, then Michael Sull's The Art of Cursive Penmanship is very helpful with some instruction for lefties (though the book itself is wire bound which, for a lefty, gets in the way of using many of the practice lines on the pages).  That is available at Goulet Pens dot com for about $20 US plus shipping.