Left Handed Improvement Hand Writing

PanchoElizalde

I'm 3an old left handed writer. I love use fountain pens and I like to improve my hand writing.

All books reccomended in this forum are before the left handed people were enable to use left hand.

Do you know any good text for left handed imrovement hand writing?

Thanks a lot

Pancho

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sidthecat

• BDarchitect

• channelsixtynine069

• leksluthah

Hello Pancho- We are probably a similar vintage, and I am also a left handed writer. I have recently been training myself to change from side writing to under writing, and am enjoying writing now for the first time in my life, especially with fountain pens.

I have purchased a number of guide books that have been helpful in different ways, and these are the ones I would suggest-

Write Now, by Barbara Getty and Inga Dubay is very helpful and addresses the particular issues facing lefties. Even more attention to left handed writers is given in Improve Your Handwriting, by Rosemary Sassoon. Neither are very expensive but both offer excellent penmanship advice for contemporary italic writing styles. If you are hoping to improve a more traditional handwriting style, say a Palmer Method style, then Michael Sull's The Art of Cursive Penmanship is very helpful with some instruction for lefties (though the book itself is wire bound which, for a lefty, gets in the way of using many of the practice lines on the pages). That is available at Goulet Pens dot com for about $20 US plus shipping.

Improve Your Handwriting is good at continual reference to lefties through the text, but most other books include a couple of paragraphs at the beginning about proper pen grip and paper orientation and then never come back to discussing the unique challenges lefties face pushing a pen nib, connecting letters, crossing t's, etc.