Sheaffer Vac Fill Oversize Balance Feed Leaking

collado

Hi FPN fellows,

Recently I've got a Sheaffer's oversize balance and got it restored according to David Nishimura's instruction. But when I started to using it as a daily writer, I've found that the ink is saturating slowly across the fins of the feed. After some searching job across FPN, I realized that it could be a problem related to air tight. Then I checked the slit between the packing unit and the barrel; the section thread and the space between the feed and the section. The conclusion is that all of the above parts are fully air tight, through looking at the whole process I noticed that the ink only doing so when I grip the pen with hand, so I guess is it possible that this happens because the remaining air in the barrel are heated by my hand, expanded, and finally pushed the ink down there all the way to the feed? If so, what can I do to fix this issue?

Thank you very much!

P.S

Another possibility through my thought is that something is wrong with the hard rubber tunnel within the feed (i.e too thin and let it too much space between itself and the feed to keep the normal capillarity), discussion is welcomed

Sincerely,

Tongzhen

TongzhenTongzhen

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• collado

• Ron Z

Top Posters In This Topic

There are a number of things that can be causing the problem. Keep in mind that "fairly" tight isn't good enough. The back end must be completely air and water tight.

First, make sure that you have a bit of silicone grease on the plunger rod. Then with the nib in a container of water, cycle the plunger completely up and down quickly several times. IF there is a minor leak anywhere at the back end, this will force water out around the 0-ring (which I assume is what you used to restore it), or between the packing unit and the barrel wall. No water coming out? Good