Buy Pelikan 400N Or Pelikan 400 - Advice Needed

dinupravin

Dear All,

I emailed Rick Propas about buying vintage pelikan 400 and 400N series.

He gave good offer for the pens.

But i am confused and i am also new to vintage pens.

Pelikan 400N is costlier and 400 is cheapest.

I have seen no post (AFAIK) on buying 400N in FPN.

What is special about 400N than that of 400 or a 400NN?

Please advice on whether to get 400 or 400N.

Thanks in advance.

Knowledge Power

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dinupravin

• Bo Bo Olson

• AL01

• Seney724

Very briefly, the 400N model was produced for only a year so they are rare and thus costly. For the long version I recommend this article:

https://thepelikansperch.com/2019/03/05/pelikan-400-fountain-pen/#more-1132

By the way, Rick is a great guy and you are sure to get a great pen, no matter which model you choose.

Do buy from Rick.

Buying on the 'Bay and elsewhere can be risky, especially for vintage Pelikans.

Do use the link to the Pelikan’s Perch. It is a first rate source. The article it links to is an excellent look at the Pelikan 400, the Pelikan 400N(ew) and the 400NN. The N stands for New. I have a brown tortoise 400 that dates to 1954.

The writer of the blog is sargetalon on this forum. He helped me find my 400, after I PM’d him.

Posted Image

As others said, Pelikan's Perch has a great article about these pens.

They are both great pens.

But, if you just want a great writer, there is no reason to go beyond the 400 (or a 400NN).

The only difference from the 400N to the others is cosmetic (and minimal) and, of course, the price is much higher. So, IMO, the 400N is more for hard core Pelikan collectors.

I bought a tortoise 400n on Ebay....it wasn't. @ a year...1956 was 400n.