John Foley Bank Pen No 7 Civil War Era

gcaso7176

Hi everyone! I recently picked up this pen that I believe to be from the civil war era. The nib says "John Foley's Bank Ben New York No. 7"

I have seen varying versions online, but they all have a date on the nib; this one does not. Is that a problem?

This does seem to be from the civil war era, but again, I am not an expert in this.

I'm looking for more information on this such as when was it made, if it is okay that there is no date on it, what is its worth, that sort of thing. Any and all help is much appreciated. Thank you!

Pictures can be found here because they are too big/too many to upload

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1RuRTQbTIIVBUo-FK_QZFKnIdYjC7RXjJ

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sidthecat

• Bo Bo Olson

• Goudy

• gcaso7176

Top Posters In This Topic

Lovely thing. I have a Foley #3, which is slightly smaller than a Leroy Fairchild #7, so your pen must be a bloody monster! The Fairchild is slightly smaller than an Edward Todd #7, which suggests the lack of standardization in the period.

fpn_1551069677__6c956e5b-1635-41a4-b686-[/url]

Edited by sidthecat

That's a nice one. These are nice gold nibs. I don't think that looks quite like one of his 1860's nibs, though. The script changed in the 70's and to my non-expert eye it looks more like a later one. Have you pulled it out of the holder to check for a date?

Regardless of date, it's a very nice nib and holder. These sell on eBay all the time so you can look for valuations there. The larger pens sell for more, and while the #7 is not the largest, they are on the larger end of the scale.

It's hard to tell from your pictures, but it doesn't look like the tipping is damaged. That affects price more than anything else as long as it isn't bent.