Calligraphy For Checks And Business Forms

Retro-user

Has anyone used Spencerian, Italic or any other calligraphic script for filling out checks or other business forms or documents? I wonder how practical it would be, given the difficulty todays generation has with reading cursive.

Edited by Retro-user

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dms525

• tamiya

• sciumbasci

• Retro-user

I am an amateur italic writer, and often mail stuff around.

Addresses in the envelopes are always written in italic, and so far it has given me the best results.

Just make sure to use a permanent ink.

No trouble with postal machines deciphering the fancy writing?

Used to keep a typewriter for envelopes but these days too lazy to unearth it, I favour block print with a big fat texta. :)

I have used italic handwriting for checks, various forms and prescriptions. Besides providing an opportunity to practice, the reaction of medical and dental office staffs, bank tellers and pharmacists is most entertaining. I also use italic script to write letters and address envelopes. I had a post office clerk ask me if I would address her wedding invitations once.

The biggest problem I've had is with forms and checks printed on paper that feathered or bled through. Usually, I can find a pen and ink combination that provides acceptable results.

David

If the machine can't read it, then the Post Office has people that can. There are wedding calligraphers that address wedding invitations using Spencerian etc. without any trouble.

The main issue I would think of is the impression it would make. I would not use ornamental writing in situations where I have to come across as professional. That said, a simple Spencerian is not that different from normal cursive, especially Palmer. The most relevant difference is probably the angle at what it is written. Shading will probably be the biggest factor in determining if it is perceived as calligraphy.