Pen Suggestion For Arthritis Issues

SeeksAdvice

Lately, have been experiencing issues with psoriatic arthritis.

Was looking at the Sailor Pro-Gear / 1911 series for a combination of decent grip diameter and fairly light weight. While I'm not a big fan of the style of the 1911 (despite owning an MB), there is something amusing about the concept of carrying a 1911 while I'm carrying a 1911 (in 10mm) :P

Are the Sailor pens worth the price of admission?

Imagination and memory are but one thing which for diverse reasons hath diverse names. -- T. Hobbes - Leviathan

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• MuddyWaters

• SeeksAdvice

• amk

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have no experience with Sailor, but in a previous thread about arthritis the Rotring Skynn was mentioned as being comfortable:

62cc1882839ea4c03099953c842c2d34.jpg

While the pen body looks like it could be comfy, I'm not sure how easy that tiny smooth snap cap would be to remove for those with reduced hand strength.

You might be interested in a wooden Pilot Vanishing Point:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Tdu7C2A4sF0/VYB_BsFR8rI/AAAAAAAACGU/kNG2k35g0-Y/s1600/vp-bamboo-2-pens-hand.jpg

It's supposed to be lighter than the normal metal version (at I believe 24 grams to the usual 30 grams).

I recommended this in another arthritis, post....

I don't have that yet....but can see this working.

Help! How Do You Hold Your Fountain Pen?

The forefinger up method is an automatic light hold.....there is no pressure as with the tripod, much less the death grip. Takes some three minutes to learn, some week of alternating for me to have settled into it......and then no more pain of writing.

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.

The cheapest lessons are from those who learned expensive lessons. Ignorance is best for learning expensive lessons.