The Old Apple Tree... Could It Become A Pen?

thesmellofdustafterrain

We have an old apple tree on our farm. The centre is rotting out so we lose large branches if the apples get too heavy. It's very pretty wood with interesting grain and there are some solid bits with beautiful burl.

I've been carving some wooden spoons from the wood, but as it fell down a few months back and the burls are complicated - and my carving skills are at absolute beginner - I wondered if this wood would be better suited for making a fountain pens instead of spoons. I always need more pens.

I wouldn't be the one to turn it, but I was thinking I could cut some blanks and stash them until the day when I can find a person who would be able to make some pens for me. By that time, they will be pretty dry... maybe I'll wrap them in kraft or news paper so they dry slower and have less chance of cracking.

Could you tell me, how big do the blanks need to be? Is it better to cut them bigger now then cut them into size later? Or cut them to size now and dry them slowly so they don't twist and crack too much? I don't really want to soak them in the stuff I can't remember what it's called that makes it not crack so much.

Is there any part of the branch where the wood is better for turning? I'm pretty low on heartwood due to the rot.

Edited by the-smell-of-dust-after-rain

petrichor

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• thesmellofdustafterrain

• Inspector

• PAKMAN

• Pierre---

Not sure of the answer to your question but I hope it's possible!

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png

My Favorite Pen Restorer                                             My Favorite Pen Store

Vanness Pens - Selling Online!