A Flex Pen For Drawing, And An Ink To Go With?

TaylorJ

Hi all,

I'm still very new to fountain pens and am looking to possibly add something specific to my collection. I have a couple Jinhaos, a couple TWSBI Ecos, an Al-Star, etc., and I love them dearly. However, I'm looking to upgrade a little bit (possibly a lot bit!) in terms of a flex pen for drawing and illustration.

I am an illustrator both by passion and by trade, and I do a little of everything: graphic design, comics and graphic novels, pen-and-ink illustrations, watercolor painting, and colored pencil pieces. My first and main love, though, is pen and ink. I have used techpens (essentially very nice fine point markers), dip pens with India ink, and even Sharpie markers. I just love the stark, striking look of black ink on plain paper.

Currently my combination of choice is a Nikko G-pen nib in a regular Speedball nib holder (or my Tachikawa nib holder when I can find it!), with a bottle of Dr PH Martin's Black Star India Ink. (Just to give an idea of my baseline.) Very flexible nib, and a very dark, very striking black India ink.

So anyway, once I got more than 5 minutes into the fountain pen hobby, I realized "oh wow there are flex- and soft-nib pens! And there are people who draw with flex pens! I WANT TO DO THAT." My main complaint with bottled india ink is just that I have to re-dip every few seconds, and it always feels like it's taking for-freakin-ever due to that. I love that with my fountain pens I can replace the ink at will, and can keep using one pen for a long time, but I don't have to dip them.

My question (yes, we're finally getting to the question) is: What are some good combinations of bulletproof or semi-bulletproof inks, and flex-nib pens? (And yes, I know not to put india ink in a fountain pen.)