"flexest" Nib? (Beginner Needs Help)

duckegg

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner to fountain pens but I love them and have always used them, even if just cheap supermarket ones.

I recently purchased a Conklin Duragraph fountain pen with an Omniflex nib. After a few hours trying to work it out, I've found the nib wasn't the best, or maybe it doesn't fit my tastes. The ink often doesn't flow properly and it's quite an issue.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong? However after looking it up it seems other people are saying this kind nib isn't the best so I'm not sure at all.

So my question is, can the Conklin Duragraph nib be replaced by another flex nib of other brands? If so, which ones would be the "softest" and "easiest to make big lines with"? Or is the nib "stuck" to the pen?

I'm very new to this so I have no idea how all of this works, and can't find the proper vocabulary to express my issue so I apologise in advance for this strange post.

Thank you

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• ReadyFireAim

• duckegg

• AAAndrew

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Yes. The Omniflex is somewhat notorious for not being, how shall we say, not actually so flexy.

Yes. One can change the nib.

If you want "softest and easiest to make big lines with" you can have that too. Starting at €165 for a semi-flex, 14k gold nib, hand made by Pablo at FPnibs. Fabulous!

For less the FPR Ultra Flex might be a more reasonable place to start. Won't be as soft or flexy. I don't have one but they get good reviews here on FPN.

Good Luck!

Add lightness and simplicate.

There's also the Desiderata Daedalus, which uses a flex dip nib (and hence it must be replaced often) starting at ~60EUR

26670516682_68a5cbaa71_b.jpg

I’ve done this the hard way, since my fancy runs to small-scale vintage pens: I’ve collected old gold dip nibs and dropped them into my pens. A great flex experience for only about twice the money of a new pen.