My Lamy Issues...

LeftyJim

Hello everyone.

I am relatively new to the hobby but have been writing for years. Recently I have purchased a Lamy 2000, Studio and Aion. But some issues have popped up and I am unsure how best to solve them. Any help you can provide will be much appreciated.

Firstly: My Lamy 2000. I am a left-hander. Whilst at the shop I stood at the counter and wrote with it, giddy that it wrote for me I snapped it up. But the nib is now giving me trouble. I am wondering if anyone has any experience with custom grinds on a nib like this. I think my best chance to smooth out my problems is to have the nib ground to a more rounded shape (something similar to that seen on lower end Parker nibs). Anyone have any experience with this? Is my solution all in my head? Can the Lamy 2000 nib even be rounded off?

Secondly: My Aion, (Stunningly beautiful writer with a broad nib that literally sings across the page: Highly recommended to any and all.) appears to have something of a vacuum issue. Once the convertor is full and I start to scribe and when there is still plenty of ink left over it drys up. Once again this is something of a guess but I think I have identified the problem: The convertor seems to build an air bubble behind the ink and that stops the ink from flowing outward. I can quick fix the problem each time by tipping/shaking the pen but this is less than ideal. Anyone have experience with this issue? I saw a video online about someone suggesting putting BB's into convertors to break the surface tension and I am wondering if this might help.

Any and all help welcome.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• LeftyJim

• dennis_f

• kazoolaw

• CS388

On the converter issue, you might also flush the Pen and converter with a combination of water and a drop of dawn liquid dish soap...and then flush it well with water ....