The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Flex Nib Recommendations And Information

flex calligraphy

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Choronzon

Choronzon

Dipped Only

• Member - Silver

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 December 2018 - 23:29

Hi all, I am looking for information and recommendations on flex nibs. I am new to FP and really liking the broad nib on my Safari. I alsa want to get into caligraphy and was looking into getting calligraphy pens when I found out about flex nibs. I love the idea, especailly what I saw on this video of the conklin empire, https://www.youtube....h?v=Y0mB3GxPyhg although unfortunately the pen didn't appear to work. 

I would look to spend about £20 and interested out to £100. 

I am a bit lost at sea when searching for information so thought I would make a post. Hope this is OK.

I have heard the noodlers ahab is OK, are there any other suggestions, especially if it can go very broad like the conklin empire.

Sponsored Content

#2 ParkerDuofold

ParkerDuofold

Jersey Boy

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,234 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 December 2018 - 08:15

Hi Chorozon,

Actually, the flex nibs on the Noodler's pens are on the stiff side and not that pleasurable to use.

I would check out Fountain Pen Revolution... they sell flex nibs on Indian made pens and their flex nibs are a little better than Noodler's.

Better still, are the Conklin Duraflex and Omniflex nibs... they have great flex,... but their feeds can be problematic,... but they are within your price range of £100 or less... and I've managed to find a couple that actually work. :)