Is Water Resistance Of Any Importance For You?

khalameet

Good morning (or evening or day, where ever you are :))

I tend to only use inks which are water resistant to some point, At the moment I use a lot of Pilot Blue Black. This ink is so good looking and just a joy to write with. I am a student and care a lot about water resistance, even though I did not have an accident with water to this point.

Which lead me to think: there are so many beautiful inks out there which are not water resistant at all - the full Diamine line (excluding Registrar's) or most of the R&K inks (which, fortunately, are unbelievably cheap here in Germany). I even own 12 R&K inks (including the two beautiful IG inks, which are actually pretty water resistant), but as soon as I begin to use an ink like Leipziger Schwarz, I think about how easy it is to completely wash this ink away with a few drops of water, and I go back to Salix or Pilot's inks. I can't actually use other inks for a long time because I don't want to damage my notes (which are important to me).

How do you feel about this? I can imagine to journal with those inks, as my journal is at home at my desk and is very unlikely to get in contact with water. But at the moment I am not very confident in using these inks at university or work.

Best regards!

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• A Smug Dill

• 1nkulus

• khalameet

• Karmachanic

These days I buy ink for colour and shading characteristics. I have one water resistant ink, but it was not purchased for that reason.

Add lightness and simplicate.

No. I never consider it for an ink purchase. I could not tell you which, if any, of my inks are water resistant. I can imagine it matters yet it has never quite been an issue in practice.