Help Identifying Parker Duofold And Its Proper Blind-Cap

Dch27

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on the FPN forums. I've been referencing them a lot; and I am happy to finally be posting something.

I recently acquired a Parker Duofold in an online auction. I purchased a pen lot because one of the pens looked an awful lot like a Duofold. I am a novice when it comes to pen collecting, but I knew enough to take a chance for 22$.

First I will give you the imprints - although they are shown in the attached pictures (I am sorry for the poor lighting)

The Nib is imprinted with the following lines, across the its width:

Parker

Duofold

Pen

Canada

A

The Barrel is imprinted with the following lines along its length:

Geo.S.Parker DUOFOLD Fountain Pen

Toronto - Lucky Curve - Canada

Here are dimensions that I took using a Mitutoyo calipers in inches [mm]

• Barrel Length from the section opening to the base of the blind cap threads: 3.224" [82.88mm]
  • Blind-cap thread length: 0.126" [3.2mm]
  • Total Length from the section opening to the tip of the blind threads = 3.35" [85.1mm]
  • Tip of the nib to barrel (nib + section): 1.259" [35mm]
  • Outer Diameter of Barrel Cap threads: Tapered from 0.496" [12.6mm] to 0.488" [12.4mm]
  • Outer Diameter of Barrel at it's Mid-span: 0.5256" [13.35mm]
  • Outer Diameter of Blind-Cap Threads: 0.3669" [9.32mm]
  • Outer Diameter of Barrel edge at the base of the Blind-Cap = 0.484" [12.3mm] - 0.488" [12.4mm]
  • Post Length (with roughly 10mm of overlab between cap and barrel) = 6.653" [169mm]

The one dimension I did not measure with the calipers was the length of the pen from the tip of the cap to the end of the blind-cap threads when capped. You can see from the image that this is
roughly 5.25" [133.3mm].