Whitelines Notebooks - A Short Review

mana

I received a recommendation about these notebooks from a member of the Finnish Fountain Pen group on Facebook (which I am an admin of). Did a little digging and found that they can be had for relatively cheap from Clas Ohlson, a Swedish electornics, hardware and household supply store (they have stores in Sweden, Norway, Finland, the United Kingdom, Germany and Dubai).

The notebooks themselves come in two sizes, spiral bound A4 and A5 with grid/line options being dot grid, lines or square grid. They also have a companion app with which you can easily capture your notes to digital format as photos. You can read more about the papers and app from their homepage: https://www.whitelinespaper.com/

Ok, I got two different notebooks which seem to share paper of similar quality, A4 in square grid (3,99€) and A5 with the dot grid (2,99€). The one displayed in the example images is the A5 dot grid notebook.

First, here is how they look on the outside:

fpn_1537807830__img_3766.jpg

You can remove the promotional leaf that is on top, the actual cover is plain with branding on the bottom right corner (not found on the actual pages inside). Otherwise it displays the pattern that you find on the pages inside. As the name implies, the lines are actually white and the page background is light grey. This promotes a more distraction free experience and I found it to be quite acceptable.

Moving on to the paper and writing examples:

fpn_1537808029__img_3772.jpg

Let's start with how it bleeds. The ink in question was rather heavily laid Pelikan 4001 Blue Black from a Pelikan 100N & BB-nib. I pushed the pen to deliver as much ink as possible (seen in the following photo) and to my surprise, it didin't bleed through that much (or at all).

Here is a photo of the writing on the other side:

fpn_1537808239__img_3773.jpg