The First Fp I Owned... Kaweco Brass Sport

Eric2018

This is the first FP I owned since last year.

Yes, I'm a newbie in FP...

That would be difficult to explain why I select a short pen for the first pen, maybe it's only, stylistic?!

My priority on choosing FP will always be given to simple handsome design, now I own about 10 FPs.

(That's nice as pens with simple designs are mostly likely to be more affordable, huh?)

LvpmHsV.jpg

Back to the Brass Sport, Kaweco did a great job!

The pen is heavy, really quite heavy, so it's very sturdy. As an EDC pen, I could simply carry it with jeans, ( even together with keys and coins, no worry at all. ) All the scratches are nothing to this brass surface, wonderful.

The nib is extra fine (as my wife's initial is EF), so it makes my first pen more meaningful. Writing with the nib is very smooth and the line written is not that fine actually. Although it is not a big nib, it is beautifully made and the finishing is gorgeous. I bought it from a UK site, tigerpens (now closed??), with free laser engraving.....

I tried different aluminium and plastic sports on hand, none of them is my cup of tea. So I only choose from Steel and Brass. 1/2. Turn up the vintage look wins.

UwEOSQW.jpg

About inking, I admit that the mini converter is still too small, so I use the cartridge instead, and Kaweco's Paradise Blue is really sight catching. Before, I tried the Diamine ink, but the feel is not so smooth that making too much feedback I may say. After I change back to the cartridge, everything is smooth again. (so I will try some Iroshuzuku later maybe)

I get the clip also, yes, because it is really handsome for the vintage chrome clip with the chrome nib in the brass bed, but as a pocket pen, the clip is really, not necessary. As the pen is heavy, by no means I'll clip it on my shirt. Anyway, the clip is kept idle in the drawer...