Buying A Fountain Pen As A Present, Advice Needed

Lamyliz

I want to buy my husband a fountain pen for Christmas and was looking at the Visconti van Gogh. I'm new to this and learning fast so don't want to spend a lot of money on something that might not be suitable or there might be something better for the price. So I thought I'd ask the experts what pen would you suggest for a nice gift?

Thanks in advance :)

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Charles Rice

• Honeybadgers

• sansenri

• sidthecat

Is he an established fountain pen user? If not, that's kind of a big gamble on a gift. if he is, The Van Goh is one of the more reliable visconti pens, while it's a steel nib, it's very well made and a good writer. Visconti palladium "dreamtouch" nibs are literally a game of russian roulette.

It is a lot of money for a steel nib, though. a LOT. Especially for a pen that is not a piston filler, and not made from any special materials. Visconti does really have a huge premium on their pens up until the $500 price point.

Are you spending around MSRP? guessing in the 200-300USD range. Because if you are sure he wants a fountain pen, the world is pretty much your oyster at that price range. If you want something less insanely expensive for a steel nib C/C pen but still really like the idea of a visconti (which let's face it, are gorgeous) and the famous painter look, check out the Rembrandt line. about half the price.

I would personally recommend a Pilot Custom 823. It's not as dramatic in colors, but it's got a huge 14k solid gold nib, a really unique vacuum filler (same as the highest line visconti pens, it also allows you to completely shut the inkflow off, which lets you take it on a plane without worry, so if he travels, this is a real consideraiton) and is just very well regarded.