Help: Oxidised Mont Blanc Sterling

singhui94

Hello everyone :),

I need some advise here regarding whether is it worth it to purchase and then send it to service/ polish. I am still considering if whether or not to buy it, because the seller is letting go at a fair price.

I believe this model is Montblanc Meisterstuck 144S Solitaire Sterling Silver Pinstripe Fountain Pen

the outer layer has completely oxidised and I'm not an expert on this, just eager to get a rare and cool first mont blanc collection of my own.

Just wondering any of you guys has any experience on this ? Will it be advisable to just do the polish on my own (perhaps using baking soda ?)

If I would to send it in for servicing instead, will you guys advise me to send it to MB or third party nibmeister ?

Thank you :D

Edited by singhui94

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• singhui94

• Erik Dalton

• chunya

• Uncial

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

It's hard to tell precisely from those pictures, but there does appear to be a bit of plate loss. Most of it should polish up fine, but sometimes when silver is allowed to oxidise to this degree you can get what appear to be staining blotches (you can actually see some on the pen in the pictures) which don;t always polish out. A jeweller might be able to bring it up to a good standard so long as they are careful and you are happy they know what they are doing. Sending it to MB for a polish would, I suspect, cost considerably more.

the subject title says 'Sterling', so assume this part of the pen at least won't show any plate loss, - that happens only when a base metal is plated, with subsequent heavy wear.

For what it costs to buy some silver polish, or a proprietary silver polish impregnated cloth, I'd suggest having a go yourself, before sending in the post somewhere with all the attendent risks/cost that poses.