Do You Save Your Letters?

Bexinthecity247

I have about 8 steady penpals at the moment - that I have been writing to for about 2-3 years and I have amassed dozens, upon dozens of their letters that are taking up, now, a considerable amount of space.

Would you keep them or scrap the oldest ones?

I'm always wary of future blackmail scandals (how many times have we seen in films and TV about people who keep old incriminating bundles of letters hm?).

In all seriousness, I just don't see the point of hanging onto the more plainer ones (the ones written in plain biro, on plain paper etc) but feel a bit mean if I chuck them.

'Someone shoot me please.'

~the delectable Louisa Durrell~

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bexinthecity247

• Studio97

• Chrissy

• drv1913

I keep letters for one year and one day, at which point they are shredded and burned. This is the same span that I usually keep my journals for, then they too find their way to the fire.

Letters are saved depending on who wrote them. I found a couple of letters from my mother written some years before she died. These are keepsakes now. I never get a letter anymore except one at Christmas. I dont keep it. Everyone texts or is on facebook. And I rarely post anything on facebook.

Have to comment about keeping journals. I have filled over 60. Only one destroyed. They are more than just about me personally but are events local, national and international. They are illustrated with drawings, photos and ephemera. It would be a shame to destroy them.

For many years, I keep all correspondence, personal and business. Pen pal letters were filed by name and in chronological order. This all ended when we sold our home, moved into a motorhome, and started travelling full-time. That was 5 1/2 years ago. Now that we are back in a much smaller home, I have started to collect letter again but I am seriously thinking that I need to destroy them after a year.