Lamy 2000 Non-Existent Sweet Spot Issue

ajengmd

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting after lurking around a lot the past few months. I'm a bit of an impulsive person so things (fountain pens) escalated quickly from a single Pilot Metropolitan to another one, a kakuno, some failed attempts with Jinhaos which then prompted me to stay in the course of reputable brands and upgrading to gold nib. I had some time to decide between the Pilot Custom 74 and Lamy 2000. But just because of logistics (I live in Indonesia) and the only one locally available in similar retail price as in the US is the Pilot Custom 74. And I LOVE IT. BUT. I still could not get my mind of getting a Lamy 2000, with a rip-off price of USD 300 locally here, I suspect because of the import fee that's somehow is higher for european goods. So I finally got around the import fee by getting one from a Japanese seller for USD 145 on ebay and customs did not open the package or put any fee on it so I'm super happy.

So as the Lamy 2000 was flying in from Japan, I was doing all my studying and was preparing to face that sweet spot issue. I was worried because I rolled my nib quite a bit when writing, and after few months with the Custom 74 I knew it took some getting used to once you get a more particular nib. I even thought the Custom 74 DO have a sweet spot. So my Lamy 2000 arrived..

and I was surprised. It's an EF nib but no sweet spot issue whatsoever. It flows right out of the nib every single time at every single rotation and I thought this is impossible. So I even rolled it around some more but the nib performed uniformly 360 degrees, upstrokes, downstrokes, at every angle. So I thought this must be the cheap paper soaking up all the ink. But it's behaving the same on other papers.

It's mind-boggling really. So what I really want to ask you guys here, is if anyone, like me, has had no issue of sweet spot, even with rolling or angling the pen?

Thanks! And greetings from Indonesia,

Ajeng