Do You Use A Pen As A Part Of An Outfit?

Honeybadgers

I don't wear a suit very often, but being a paramedic, I do wear a clean pressed uniform 4 days a week. I usually have a $10 wing sung 601 or delike alpha in my breast pocket, but this last month, we had a medic and critical care nurse die in separate incidents. Both were/are going to be buried in full uniform and there will be a large presence of our crews. We don't have dress uniforms, so field blues it is. To the first funeral, I decided to spruce up my pocket with a visconti homo sapiens next to my stethoscope, and for tomorrow's funeral, I plan on using my mont blanc 149. But as somber as the occasion is, it did raise the question in my mind.

I know that expensive pens are often used by the rich as a status symbol, but do any of you actually pick a pen for your outfit like you would a watch?

Edited by Honeybadgers

Selling a boatload of restored, fairly rare, vintage Japanese gold nib pens, click here to see (more added as I finish restoring them)

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Honeybadgers

• pajaro

• jmnav

• ardene

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

No, for funerals, I'd not dream of showing off, much less with a pen showing in my suit breast pocket. If a pen, then in the inside pen pocket of the suit jacket, for when you sign the book with a nib that gives flair.

A descent ring, nice cuff links and a good tie tac. Could go for a nice but not overly flashy folded handkerchief in the breast pocket of the suit. The old style thin wrist watch is worn under the long sleeve shirt, or under the jacket....not on the sleeve.

Funerals are not quite the place for a gold pocket watch and it's gold chain in your three piece suit. There's no place for one in a two piece suit.

OK, so it's pocket watches that is why I have 3 piece suits. :rolleyes: