Oblique Pelikan Nibs

Steshi220

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the fountain pen world. I have a 200 and an 800. Both nibs are in f. But I'm considering buying more nibs for different writing experiences. I would like to buy a Pelikan oblique nib for the 200, probably 400 size.

I did some researches and found out that the current 400 size nib has both 14c and 18c. Any huge difference there?

And where can I buy pelikan nibs? Factory-new oblique nibs?

Thanks a lot

Best,

Yishi

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• invisuu

• gmax

• MHBru

That may be a treasure hunt. If I was looking for just a nib I would try asking Regina Martini at

https://www.martiniauctions.com

or Rolf Thiel at

http://www.missing-pen.com/site-in-english

Those are the first two that come to mind. I would mention Rick Propas but I thought that I had heard he was out of the parts business.

Fun nibs. Good luck!

"Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working." -Pablo Picasso

The m400 size is the same as the m200 nib, it's just gold. Gold nibs for Pelikans in general are not cheep. For current production CultPens has been the cheapest I have found. I have gotten steel m2xx nibs for around $15 there as apposed to the around $50 they go for in the US. For an m800 nib you are looking a couple of hundred. If you are looking for more flexibility you need to be looking at vintage m400 nibs. If you just want an oblique nib you can have most any nib reground that way for about $40-$50. The cheapest again to play with that way would be the m200 nibs which are also more springy then current m400 nibs.

Sometimes vintage pelikan nibs come up for sale here at FPN. When dealing with vintage Pelikan nibs they tend to write finer then modern western nibs. I have a 1950's vintage Pelikan 400 with an OM nib that is a bit fine for me.

Oblique nibs from the '50-65 era are semi-flex stubs and are great.