Should I Throw My Journal Away?

Citygirl

I have almost finished a journal which I've been using for the past two years, a nice fancy Paperblanks one which I am reluctant to get rid of. After a discussion with a friend who thinks any negative journalling shouldn't be kept I am now wary of keeping it but I don't want to throw it away and regret it, not just the look of the book but for what is written there aswell, though it is mainly negative and stuff I may not want to reflect back on.

If I do throw it away, how can I set up a different, more positive journalling system? I do keep a daily planner that I save to look back on but that is just dates.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Citygirl

• knarflj

• vjones

• TSherbs

Top Posters In This Topic

Do you mean quality of the journaling or what is written in it?

I have a Leuchtturm 1917 notebook that i use as a daily/weekly log depending on how often i write in it. Works pretty well so far.

I'd offer (just an opinion, naturally), that you can learn a lot about yourself looking back at the past, even if your journal entries are negative. In my case, I've looked at what I would now consider rather melodramatic entries in past years, and seeing my thoughts written down has helped me to realize how hard it is for me to see things clearly when I'm worried or stressed, and get a better handle on it.

I suppose it depends on just how negative your entries are, though. Hope this helps!

Whenever you are fed up with life, start writing: ink is the great cure for all human ills, as I found out long ago.

~C.S. Lewis

--------------

Current Rotation:

Edison Menlo <m italic>, Lamy 2000 <EF>, Wing Sung 601 <F>

Pilot VP <F>, Pilot Metropolitan <F>, Pilot Penmanship <EF>

I would vote keep it!

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png