Ink "maturing" Inside The Pen

Tadeo

Here's a topic i'm sure have a degree of recurrence with the community, therefore here I am.

I am fairly new to the FP world and just started to notice some things about FP behavior that most seasoned aficionados must be familiar with. I noticed how ink behavior changes even when i am using the same pen-paper-ink combinations. Specifically Lamy safary with Lamy blue cartridge ink.

If my pen have been recently flushed, which I do with every ink charge, the color of the ink is very washed-out. I noticed that in new-out-of-the-box pens lamy blue cartridge ink has a washed out look too. I suppose the case for a recently flushed pen is for ink dilution with water stuck inside the feed. Because of this I was no particularly thrilled by Lamy blue, considering it sort of a meh blue.

Since my pens rise in number and I of course want to use them all and have them all inked, the natural course of things made some pens sit inked but unused for a while. What a nice surprise was when I retried my safari with lamy meh blue and instead of a pale blue ,what was laid on the page was a dark saturated lovely blue. It totally changed my appreciation for this ink and for any other ink as a side effect.

Later on, as I was reading comments here in FPN I realized that of course, I am not the only one that happen to notice such wonderful thing happening to FPs. So, I would love to hear your stories.

Cheers

Tadeo.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• minddance

• Tadeo

• PAKMAN

• LizB

It happened to me, different inks and pens too. I believe is related with water evaporation in time, leading to a more saturated ink.

Absolutely. I find my Lamy Safaris dry out fairly quickly (compared to other pens), meaning that at some point the ink inside is fairly saturated compared to that in the bottle. It can give you exaggerated sheen from already well-saturated inks too.