The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Improving Handwriting For Everyday Purposes - Getty-Dubay, Fred Eager, Palmer Method Or Spencerian?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Verdict

Verdict

Dipped Only

• Member - Silver

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 July 2018 - 13:20

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to the world of fountain pens and I'd like to start by improving my handwriting.  My job requires me to write a lot more than I expected so I'd like to make an effort to improve it.

There are times where I'll have a proper desk to work in, and other times where I won't, so practicality and adaptability is key. I won't be able to choose what type of paper I write with, so using fine inks or special nibs won't be appreciated, sadly.

I've bought a couple of Pilot V-Pens, disposable fountain pens, to get started. I've used these before and the ink doesn't bleed through the paper I encounter everyday and doesn't blob. 

Based on my research, the following books/methods seem to be popular for improving handwriting:

• Write Now: The Complete Program For Better Handwriting by Barbara Getty and Inga Dubay
  • The Italic Way to Beautiful Handwriting: Cursive and Calligraphic by Fred Eager
  • The Palmer Method of Business Handwriting (is this the title of a book or just the system? Not sure.)
  • Spencerian Handwriting 

From what I know, Spencerian handwriting requires a proper desk to write on and requires proper form which I won't be able to execute properly on a daily basis. Eager's method seems to require specific nib sizes and I only have the V-pen to start with.