Advice Wanted For Mid-Price Work Pen

doctorinky

Hello,

I've used fountain pens since school; (Parker Vectors, then a Parker Frontier) then a few years ago I splashed out on a Waterman Carene (M nib) whilst at medical school as I was making page upon page of notes. I adore my Carene; it's absolutely the perfect pen but I don't want to carry something of that value round at work. I do however like to use a fountain pen at work as I write all the time.

I'm a junior doctor in the NHS, so my pens do get a fairly hard life. I've got a Lamy Safari (Fine nib, cos the Waterman Carene is very broad, but I think the fine is a little too fine and actually I'm missing the breadth) which I love but after a couple of years of abuse I'm ready to upgrade it to something slightly blingier - although of course the Safari will get some outings. I did get a Monteverdi Monza the other week for variety, but it has already spilt ink everywhere and fallen to pieces. Booo!

I write a LOT in patient notes; on a busy day I get through an entire cartridge and then some, so it's one of the tools of my trade.

So, in terms of budget and trusted brands I suppose I'm looking at
Lamy Studio (SS nib, can't afford the flash one)
Waterman Hemisphere
Waterman Expert

I know Lamys are fabulous, but I also love my Waterman to bits! Accepting that this is a compromise pen - a bit special, brings joy when I use it but doesn't cost the earth in case it gets nicked/dropped/whatever - what would people recommend? Thinking around £50ish - am open to other brand suggestions too. Flow is very important (on normal A4 paper, nothing flash), as is feeling nice in the hand, looking smart, ability to hang from a lanyard/clip effectively (NHS banned white coats a few years back so clipped onto lanyard is the usual spot), durable (wipe clean!!).

Any ideas fountain pen fans?

Edited by doctorinky

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Manalto

• KellyMcJ

• Honeybadgers