Gel-Ink Look But With Fountain Pen Ink?

CoolBreeze

I am relatively new to fountain pens but have lots of experience with rollerball/gel testing disposables. My favorites are the Uniball 307 or the Pentel Energel. While I love the experience of writing with a fountain pen, I don't know where to start with ink. So far I have only used Pilot Blue and Pilot Black because they came with my pens and I like the relative water resistance of them. That being said, they look so washed out and faded compared to my gel refills. Are there any fountain pen inks that have that glossy saturated deep look that I have been getting with my gels? If so, can you make some recommendations? Also, what should I look for in terms of terminology of fountain pen ink descriptors when doing my own search... Is that kind of look referred to as glossy, saturated, deep or something else? Thank you!

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• CoolBreeze

• minddance

• Olya

• cellmatrix

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

You're going to want saturated, perhaps sheen. I wonder if lubricated might also have an effect in this regard. Noodler's comes to mind, as does Private Reserve. Perhaps Organics Studio. (I only have little to no experience with these brands.)

One problem you're going to run into is that ballpoint / gel pens generally have some form of oil in the ink (at least, that's my understanding) which is going to render the output more glossy. Fountain pen inks, however, are water-based. Thus, any gloss will have to come from the dye or pigment (or some other additive).

Am curious to see what people come up with.

ETA: You probably want a wet nib as well.

Edited by LizEF

I'm just guessing, since I can't see what you see, but some possibilities from inks I have used:

• KWZI Azure #5
  • Organics Studio Ralph Waldo Emerson Twilight Blue (sheen monster)
  • Callifolio Bleu Equinoxe #5
  • Colorverse Extra Dimension