Doing Crosswords With Fountain Pens

markofp

Almost every day I do the New York Times crossword puzzle with a fountain pen, usually my Edison Pearl with an extra-fine nib. Don't think that I don't get grief for it. In fact, I've come to realize that I do it for three reasons: because I enjoy solving crosswords, for the joy of using my pens, and I take some pleasure in annoying people who think I am being, I don't know, too frou-frou or something.

Do you use FPs to do crosswords? Which ones and which inks?

post-71328-0-89337300-1528901560_thumb.jpg

Edited by markofp

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• markofp

• Freddy

• CS388

• ReadyFireAim

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Yes, I do. I have a subscription to the UK Daily Telegraph puzzles site and the UK Guardian and Independent newspapers have free downloadable crosswords. Although I could do them on line, of course I prefer to print them off onto whichever decent paper I am using at the moment. (Currently a 140 sheet Black n' Red A4 professional Notebook with LH perforated 90gsm Optik paper- 3 for £1 each at a car boot sale!). I also have a few pads of Clairefontaine Pupitre A4 90gsm. I find both these papers suitable for using both sides without any discernible feathering or bleed-through with any pen/ink combination I have available. For crosswords on newspaper I would only use a fine nib with Quink as the paper is very nearly like blotting paper.

I did once bring a ream of the famous HP 32lb laser paper back from the States for this very purpose in my hand luggage without any problems from customs apart from a quizzical look. Well you have to do these things don't you? :D

Yesterday is history.

Tomorrow is a mystery.

Today is a gift.

That's why it's called the present

Every Day! I do the local paper crossword every day with my fountain pen! Usually a fine or xf nib with what ever ink is in the pen at the time.

PAKMAN