Lady Duofold De Luxe Ringtop Blue-On-Blue

sodul

I found this pen at the flea market this weekend and paid $55 for it. The filling system no longer works but I believe it just needs a new sac. While I have some experience restoring lever fillers but this is my first button filler and I'm a little bit afraid of opening this nice pen.

The pen is still in very good condition and has only a few scratches. The white paint on the branding is only partially gone. This pictures are how I got the pen and I have not tried to clean the body and cap in any way. I did dip the nib in my ultrasonic cleaner as it was covered in dried ink.

fpn_1528178500__img_3746.jpg

fpn_1528178717__img_3747.jpg

The nib is stamped "PARKER LUCKY CURVE B3X"

fpn_1528178750__img_3748.jpg

I dipped the pen in ink to test it and it has quite a nice flex to it. The dot grit has 5mm spacing.

fpn_1528178796__img_3749.jpg

From the information I gathered online this pen was probably manufactured in 1927 since that's when the rare blue-on-blue color was introduced and by 1928 or 1929 the DuoFolds were redesigned to be tapered. I don't know how to tell if the cap band is 14k solid or 'just' 12k filled but there is no trace of brassing.

At the same time I got a yellow pocket Arnold fountain pen, pencil combo for $5-$10. It is in very good condition, including a working sac and a near mint nib.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mitto

• sodul

I'm unable to pull the button or to unscrew the section. I tried needle nose pliers but there is only 1-2mm of the 'fingers' showing and I just can't get enough clearance to squeeze the bottom of the button tighter. I tried rubber grips for the section but it will not bulge at all, although I'm worried that I should remove the button and pull the bar from the back before I attempt to open the section.

I really do not want to brute force the disassembly here.