Screw Cap Proper Torque?

Supernova

I'm new to fountain pens and I did my best to use the fpn google to search for this, but I couldn't find much info. My questions is: When you are closing a screw cap, at what point do you stop screwing? From my limited experience, screw caps go on with no resistance for the first turn and a half, then you can feel the friction. In my mind, I should stop the second I feel any resistance because I don't want to wear out the threads, but on the other hand, it can back out and come uncapped if I don't tighten enough. Is there a rule of thumb or method that will ensure I'm tightening the correct amount? I don't want to wear out the threads or ruin a shirt. I'm probably over-thinking this, but I figured it can't hurt to ask.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• praxim

• Supernova

• JotterAddict62

• almoore

Hi Supernova

In my limited experience different pens, with screw caps, require different numbers of rotations to remove/replace the cap so as a rule of thumb i gently replace the cap and rotate until it stops, I never take it last it's natural stopping point of apply any extra pressure. And, to date, I've had no problems.

Hope this helps

Al

Greetings and welcome to the fountain pen club...

Just snug up the cap..

Weak snug is fine...no need to crank it shut.

I learned that back in B&W TV days, when every kid was glad to get into 4th grade and finally use a fountain pen.

It will become second nature very rapidly.

As mentioned, some take more turns, others less, and also within the same company. One pen model may only take 1/2 a turn, another even of the same model might take 3/4's a turn.

Some other company a full turn, or even more.