Mb 24 Oblique: My First Vintage And First Oblique

Tseg

I've been on a quest for a number of months to find a pen that gives me more overall comfort than my most comfortable pen, my Waterman Carene. Comfort being a mix of ergonomics and nib writing experience. It is too soon to declare the MB 24 a winner, as it just arrived a couple of hours ago, but it very well may be. It has similar dimentions to the Carene, has an extened section and very small step. It also has a push-pull cap. It is different in that it is much lighter, has an ebonite feed and has an oblique nib (my first). It has a 14K vs. 18K nib. It also has an ink window. And it's over 40 years older, designed several decades before the venerable Carene. It is made of precious resin and glows red with an iPhone light shined in the cap.

I am blown away by the smoothness of the nib. I am still learning how to use an oblique... I think I need to turn it a bit my way? It is about my best writing pen (compared to the likes of ST Dupont, Sailor KoP, Pelikan M1000, Pilot Custom 823, Lamy 2000, etc...). Like my Lamy, it is clear the angle I hold the pen is important else it will hard start. In general, it does not take long to dry up if uncapped (10-15 seconds?). I've not had it long, but no issues so far if capped. The nib under a loupe looks brand new. I'm assuming it is an oblique broad because I don't think they made an oblique medium, but it certainly writes more like a medium. The ebonite feed is juicy but well controlled. With that said, the ebonite feed can be a bit sloppy when not writing... several times in my short ownership of the pen I've noticed the feed dropping a dot of ink in the cap or on paper if the pen is given a tussle. It seems to be my most sensitive feed in that regard.