A Pen I’M Going To Buy

beast786

Hi all

Fountain pen newbie here. Ive always loved fountain pens since I was a child and I used to see my mother use her pens. She had three and they were beauts. One was a Waterman one a parker and the other a Schaefer. It was the nibs that I found so cool.

Fastforward many many years and Im about to buy my first fountain pen. I discovered the Boheme about 10 or so years ago and thought the retracting mechanism was very clever and decided on buying myself one. Could never bring myself to pay the 300-400 that they cost. I promised myself I would when I achieved something specific. I achieved that thing 6 months ago and about 3 months ago discovered the MB 149. The shape of that thing is wonderful. Tried one new in a shop and it was the smoothest thing even. Started looking for a 149 instead of a boheme.

I have discovered one now that is priced right for me.

Now I have been looking at a lot of posts about fakes and serial numbers and markings etc. This pen that I just came back from looking at is as follows:

-It has W Germany marked on the ring where the pocket clip is.

-I couldnt find a serial number anywhere.

-I couldnt see the tix © mark anywhere.

-I tried the resin test with a bright torch inside of the lid and it was a nice DARK red colour.

-The nib writes like what I think is a M going on a B. Too broad for an M based on the schoolboy parker M nibs I used ages ago.

-Two tone nib.

-Its a piston filler

I have 3 questions.

1)The lack of the tix Mark worries me. Should it?

2)Based on the lack of serial number and the W Germany mark, I guess its an older model. Is there anything about the older models that I should worry about? Should I try to get one of the newer post 1991 models instead?

3)It has these slight and light hairline scratches here and there just as any pen that old that was actually used would have. Is there a way to repolish/buff the body?