What's With The Lamy 2000's Sweet Spot? Is It A Deal Breaker?

energeeon

Hi, so I'm quite new to fountain pens and want to get a higher end fountain pen, namely the LAMY 2000. I've bought a relatively cheap fountain pen a while ago (Metropolitan)

However, I've heard stories about the LAMY 2000 and it's ridiculously small sweet spot and since I'm new to fountain pens, I don't believe my grip is as good as many of you here and might have trouble adjusting to it. That being said, when I look up recommendations for a high end pen that's less than $200, the LAMY 2000 comes up the most. I'm just not sure whether or not this is a deal breaker, so I want some advice.

I plan to get an Extra Fine, so the sweet spot might be a bit larger than say, a Fine. Is this a huge difference?

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Glenn-SC

• sirgilbert357

• pajaro

• Twister292

My Lamy 2000 is a medium and it is ever so slightly stubbish. Not enough to see any real line variation, but it doesn't feel quite like the rounded ball on a regular Lamy nib (Studio, Safari, etc). I don't really have any issues with the sweet spot, but it is noticeable if I get sloppy with my form. And the nib will still write, it just loses the glassy smooth feel until I'm back in the sweet spot. If you hold your pen at roughly a 45 degree angle, you will likely be fine, as that seems to be the angle my nib prefers. Some people tend to rotate the pen as they write across a page though, and this change of orientation can cause issues with staying in the sweet spot on certain nibs. I've learned not to rotate the pen and I mostly have my L2k to thank for that lesson honestly, LOL.