Cursive. An Arch Nemesis Turned Ally. Also, Can Someone Show Me A Nice Capital N? Thanks.

dadoody

Cursive.

Cursive was once a hated foe. My nemesis. Growing up in both public and private schools, I was forced to write in cursive. With a ballpoint pen. With teachers always correcting my script as being wrong or unreadable. I was copying the script THEY TAUGHT me, but crack open 2 cursive workbooks, and I got 2 DIFFERENT scripts.

The infuriating part was that I was always wrong, the writing was always ugly, cheap bic pen cursive was never a fun experience, and it put me off of cursive. In my adult life, I got into fountain pens, because of the tactile feel. My cursive writing was quick and ugly, but enjoyable because of the joy of smooth and tactile pens and inks.

Recently though, I purchased pilot metro with a "caligraphy" nib, and something strange happened. When I wrote with it, my writing actually looked almost beautiful to me. That was strange....so I started practicing. And practicing. Letters that looked ugly, I googled and started copying script that looked attractive to me. I started to take ownership of cursive. I started writing cursive on my own terms, and it's become something of a positive feedback loop - the prettier, to me, that my writing became, the more I've been practicing. Recently, people have been COMPLIMENTING my handwritting, which has never happened before.

I'm not sure if I can ever learn and write in beautiful Spencarian or Copperplate/Roundhand, but I'm enjoying the writing practice I've been doing. So maybe one day, I could get into those. But for now...I'm just enjoying cursive.

Strange days. I'm actually enjoying cursive...

Anyways, my name has a capital N, but I don't like any of the capital Ns I write. Can anyone send me a nice capital N script that they think I might like? Thank you :)

32191994_10155878444313171_1734943964680

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dadoody

• Inky.Fingers