Flex Vs Soft

Inky.Fingers

This topic have been a torn for many newbies..ie myself.

Soft nibs, the softer the nib, the better the bounce. For Asian, whom are familiar with a brush, the softness of nib gives some life to the writing. Else, we would just use a Biro.

There is no line variation with soft nibs. This is its charm.

Flex nib is not to demonstrate how one can crank out Copperplate or Spencerian. Calligrapher uses steel flex nib for that. For everyday user, it should be just like a regular pen with very subtle changes in the line width to make it more pleasurable to write and to be read. However, without the discipline for better penmanship, it is just a cool tool for a fool. Pride yourself with better penmanship and it makes owning the tool worthwhile.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Inky.Fingers

• AAAndrew

• strelnikoff

• MercianScribe

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not a pro calligrapher. I do some lettering for some design work with my wife, who is a pro designer, and some private projects, but I'm not a pro.

There is a multitude of different dip nibs, and a lot of variety of FP flex nibs too. I can get an extra hour or more of calligraphy practice at work writing with my FPs, that I wouldn't have normally got. It doesn't have to be full copperplate or Spencerian, and I'm not cranking anything out, but there are scores of drills you can do too, and then there's just taking care of your form, your rhythm, your flow, your pressure... Most people can't take dip pens to practice at work.

And then like you say, there's taking care of your regular penmanship.

And then, there's the joy of using a beautiful, carefully kept or restored historical writing instrument.

So if I'm getting what you're getting at, no, I don't see a need for judgment, and I certainly don't agree with 'cool tools for fools'.

Hi, I'm Mat

:)