Smoothest Writing Fine Or Extra Fine Point Pen ?

kealani

Aloha Everyone.

I am somewhat new at this and notice that my TWSBI Echo and Diamond in EF and F nib are very scratchy. The tines are aligned and polishing the tip with micro grit helped a little but they are still very "toothy".

I have a Pelican M200 with a custom tuned Fine nib that write fairly smoothly.

Are there any other Fine or EF point pens that are smooth with the least feedback (and scratchy noise)?

Are there any pens with an Extra Fine or Fine nib that are the "smoothest" and "wettest" to write with?

Mahalo,
Jim

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• effrafax

• kealani

• Fatalpotato

• Precise

My smoothest pen is an ST Dupont Olympio (although it is a Medium, but understand their F & EF are about as smooth), followed by a Waterman Carene (Fine), when writing on Tomoe River paper. Paper will have significant impact. I am not a fan of the waxiness of Rhodia paper that creates a lag feel in a number of my pens. My Pilot Custom 823 Fine is also smooth (like a smooth ball-bearing feel) but writes like an EF or 2X EF.

Edited by Tseg

The thing about using fine and extra fine (or if you have a Platinum ultra extra fine!) is that they need a very light hand. This question comes up fairly regularly, and my feeling is that, if, as you say, the nib's tines are properly aligned and you have polished it a bit, then maybe the problem is elsewhere. For starters, what sort of paper are you using? Is the pen loaded with a nicely lubricating ink? And the biggie: how heavy a hand do you have?

I'm old enough to have learned to write using dip pens, back in the mid-60s. Our teacher was, bluntly, a bit of a tyrant, but I'm thankful for that in a way, as it taught me to hold the pen very lightly. She would sneak up behind us, and if she couldn't pull the pen out of your hand, would deliver a rap across the knuckles. Different times ...